Sunday, March 31

Review: Wild Invitation by Nalini Singh

Wild Invitation by Nalini Singh contains 4 novellas, all in the Psy-Changling series.  Two of these novellas were included in previous anthologies, but two of them are new.  If you have not checked out the Psy-Changling series, you are missing a fabulous ride.  The series is classified Paranormal Romance, but could easily also be labeled Urban Fantasy.  

The basic premise of the series is that there are 3 distinct classes of human on earth.  Changlings, be they wolf, panther, eagle, deer, swan, etc.  Changlings can change from human to their animal.  They live in a strict hierarchy made up of  a leader at the top, Maternals, Elders, Healers, Soldiers and other similar positions.  Everyone is important in the pack or group and everyone works together to keep the pack/group safe.

There are also a group of humans called Psy.  They are all linked into a mental network similar a computer internet system.  All Psy have different areas in which they have abilities.  Some can Telekinesis  or Forecast the future, or even Psychometry.  Most all Psy have Telepathy in some small form as they need it to connect to the PsyNet. A protocol called "Silence" was instituted to help the Psy deal with emotions.  It taught their children that emotions are bad and to rely on pure logic.   

The third group are plain regular human.  Not as strong as Changlings, not as logical as Psy.  The humans have played a very small part in the Psy/Changling series so far.  

The first story, Beat of Temptation, is from the anthology An Enchanted Season, published in 2007.  This story is number 0.5 in the series. This is the story of Tamsyn and Nathan and their mating dance.

The second story, Stroke of Enticement, is from the anthology The Magical Christmas Cat, published in 2008 and is number 3.5 in the series.  In this story, we have the story of Zach, a leopard, and Annie, a human.  The story was sweet and gives us a nice perspective on humans mating into the Pack.

The third novella is Declaration of Courtship, and is number 9.5 in the series.  This is the story of Grace, a very submissive leopard and Cooper, a lieutenant and very dominant in the pack.  He must walk a fine line to not overpower Grace and give her the time to learn to trust in his love.  

The last novella is Texture of Intimacy and is number 10.5 in the series.  This is the story of Lara, the healer and Walker Lauren.  Their story was started in Kiss of Snow and this novella takes us into the minds and hearts of Lara and Walker as they merge their lives together.

I gave this book 5 stars on Goodreads. I know that 2 of these stories are reprints, but I have read and reread them multiple times because they are just so awesome.  And now I have 2 more wonderful stories to reread. 

In Beat of Temptation, innocent Tamsyn has always had a place in her heart for Nathan, a blooded DarkRiver sentinel. But is she ready for the fierce demands of the mating bond?

In Stroke of Enticement, a wary young teacher, skeptical about love, arouses the man—and the animal—in an aggressive leopard changeling who must prove his affections are true.


In Declaration of Courtship, Grace, a shy submissive wolf, finds herself pursued by the last man she ever would have imagined: a SnowDancer lieutenant said to be “mad, bad, and dangerous to know.

In Texture of Intimacy, SnowDancer healer Lara discovers the searing joys—and unexpected challenges—of being mated to quiet, powerful Walker, a man used to keeping his silence.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for taking the time to comment.

back to top